Canadian Money Forum banner

Low income, two businesses - must I declare all business expenses?

3K views 5 replies 4 participants last post by  modul 
#1 ·
I am self-employed and have two businesses: one made a small profit last year, the other (a new one) made a loss. Elsewhere I read that it is not necessary to declare business expenses, although it is normally an advantage to do so. So, here's my question: Am I required to declare all business expenses?

Using taxation software, it looks like if I want to maximise my return this year I would declare all the expenses I can on the business that made a loss (including CCA on a vehicle that is used for both businesses), but omit some expenses for the business that made a small profit. I really don't want to do something wrong.

Thanks!

#2 ·
I'm no tax expert, but I would be surprised to learn of any taxing authority (and I am assuming here we are talking about the CRA) that requires one to report expenses. There is certainly a requirement to report income, but I would expect the CRA to be just as happy to have you report income while claiming no offsetting expenses.

I have never heard of the CRA sending out a notice of reassessment saying, for example: "Last year you reported business income of $100,000. You reported no expenses and you were assessed tax of $35,000 accordingly. It has come to our attention that you failed to report business expenses of $60,000. We have reassessed your return accordingly and have determined that the correct net tax payable should have been $10,000. However, you are not entitled to refund because we have assessed a penalty in the amount of $25,000 due to your failure to report expenses as required."

Not reporting expenses and overpaying taxes is not an offence, so far as I know.

#4 ·