two incomes become one income with two young kids , are the goals still achievable?
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: two incomes become one income with two young kids , are the goals still achievable?

two incomes become one income with two young kids , are the goals still achievable?

Hi Everyone;

I have been in this forum for a while and received lots of great advice for my questions on house and portfolio. I've really enjoyed reading the perspectives of others and would like to share our financial situation .
    Both wife and I are 42 years old and have a two and half year boy . the new baby is one the way in this summer . I am an engineer working for oil &gas upstream and earn around 170K per year (base salary and bonus) . my wife had a similar income but was laid off last winter.

Assets
    residential property : $650K
    Cash/Savings: $170K
    Husband's registration account RRSP/TSFA/Company DC: $246K
    wife's registration account RRSP/TSFA: $255K
    Boy's RESP :$ 12K
    Two unregistered investment account : 160K
    holding company investment account : 247K
    rental 1 single house : 400K
    rental 2 Cando: 350K
    Manulife whole life insurance for husband and wife : 110K contributed ($1M coverage for two, needs another $ 110K in next 5 years to pay out )
    Total Assets: ~$2.78M

Liabilities
    Mortgage for two rentals : $590K ( both renewed last year at Prime - 0.7$ interest rate)
    LOC : $100K ( two year term at 2.54% interest rate)
    Total Liabilities: $690K

Net Worth: $2.06M

all the assets were built within 12 years after we immigrated Canada thanks for oil booming .

our long term goals to 55 years old retirement :
    a. build $3M retirement income pools : 1) $1-1.5M dividend stock pool ;2) $1M rental properties ;3) $1M whole life insurance
    b. support two kids to finish university ;

three years short term goals:
    a. buy the third rental property;