Buy a laptop - Page 7
Page 7 of 7 FirstFirst ... 567
Results 61 to 66 of 66

Thread: Buy a laptop

  1. #61
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    9 Lt. J. Francisco St. Quezon City, Philippines
    Posts
    1

    laptop

    I have dell intel core quad here. But a little bit slower and always lag. Thought I might have to get a new model ahead.


  2. #62
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2013
    Posts
    1,810
    Quote Originally Posted by abigailcarson73 View Post
    I have dell intel core quad here. But a little bit slower and always lag. Thought I might have to get a new model ahead.
    Before considering a new laptop, I'd first confirm that you don't have a lot of unnecessary applications running; that your hard drive is not getting too full; and that your internet connection is not a restriction.

  3. #63
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2009
    Posts
    342
    Is your hard drive SSD?

    I find it makes a big difference.

    Not that expensive to upgrade.

  4. Remove Advertisements
    CanadianMoneyForum.com
    Advertisements
     

  5. #64
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2016
    Location
    With Nellie
    Posts
    183
    Quote Originally Posted by cashinstinct View Post
    Is your hard drive SSD?

    I find it makes a big difference.

    Not that expensive to upgrade.
    Yes. Upgraded my wife's machine with an SSD and it's a very effective way to noticably improve performance.

  6. #65
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2011
    Posts
    1,027
    I'll get an SSD when I can afford it, realistically a 2TB drive is pretty expensive, and well my 1TB drive is full.

    That includes backing up most of my data offsite (I love AWS S3, as long as I don't need to get most of it back)

  7. #66
    Senior Member m3s's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Classified
    Posts
    3,032
    Quote Originally Posted by MrMatt View Post
    I'll get an SSD when I can afford it, realistically a 2TB drive is pretty expensive, and well my 1TB drive is full.
    I assume you mean laptop? Because otherwise you just add a 256GB SSD and clone your OS/programs to it or fresh install them. Keep the data on 1TB HDD

    I was able to do this in my MacBook Pro by removing the CDROM (never used it once) and moving the original HDD into its place (requires a $20 adapter)

    Amat Victoria Curam

Page 7 of 7 FirstFirst ... 567

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •