Portfolioslicer (Automated Excel portfolio tracker) - Page 6
Page 6 of 16 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast
Results 51 to 60 of 152

Thread: Portfolioslicer (Automated Excel portfolio tracker)

  1. #51
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    85
    Have you migrated symbol alias table? That is most likely reason.


  2. #52
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    GTA
    Posts
    1,488
    Quote Originally Posted by vidm View Post
    Have you migrated symbol alias table? That is most likely reason.
    i added them in my symbol table, do i also need to add them in my portfolio on the website ? They are not listed on yahoo finance and dont have fixed price so i am not sure how...
    My portfolio: VCN, VUN, VIU, VEE, HBB, ZRE

  3. #53
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    85
    Quote Originally Posted by larry81 View Post
    Just updated to 0.90 without any hassle

    I used to have some DFA funds, the SymbolName appear as red in my srcTrans tab. How and where should i add these ticker to be recognised ?

    I need clarification - do you have this problem since you migrated to version 0.9.0, or you are adding new data about DFA funds?

    If you started to experience problem just after migrating to version 0.9.0:
    There are no changes to backend data, so you should be able to get the same quotes as before. If you are not, most likely reason is with SymbolAlias table - you have to copy it from old version.

    If you are starting to add new symbols, but quotes are not there:
    First I have to make sure that quotes cannot be obtained. So can you please post here or send me directly list of quotes for your DFA funds.
    If I'll not be able to get quotes, then you either not going to be able to add symbols to PS web workbook, or you can add them as private symbols. But private symbols have fixed quote, so probably that is not an option for you.

    I am slow with my replies - I am spending this week in Seattle (Microsoft)...
    Free investment tracking in Excel: Hidden Content

  4. Remove Advertisements
    CanadianMoneyForum.com
    Advertisements
     

  5. #54
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    GTA
    Posts
    1,488
    Thanks for the reply vidm,

    I always had problem with DFA funds, this is not related to the 0.90 update, here are the tickers:

    DFA600
    DFA391
    DFA231

    The funds were sold couple years ago, could i simply add them with a fictive fixed quote (ex: price i sold them) ?
    My portfolio: VCN, VUN, VIU, VEE, HBB, ZRE

  6. #55
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    85
    Quote Originally Posted by larry81 View Post
    Thanks for the reply vidm,

    I always had problem with DFA funds, this is not related to the 0.90 update, here are the tickers:

    DFA600
    DFA391
    DFA231

    The funds were sold couple years ago, could i simply add them with a fictive fixed quote (ex: price i sold them) ?
    Please add symbols DFA600.TO, DFA391.TO and DFA231.TO to your web workbook and then you can use them in Excel workbook. I have up to date quotes for these symbols.

    Regards,
    Free investment tracking in Excel: Hidden Content

  7. #56
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    GTA
    Posts
    1,488
    vidm i performed a norbert gambit transaction yesterday and i am not sure how to enter it properly:

    in my TDDI:
    2014-12-03, TD.to, BUY, 614, 56,92$, -9,99$, -34 958,87$
    2014-12-03, TD, SELL, -614, 50,062$, -9,99$, 30 727,89$

    in my portfolioslicer:
    CAD 2014-12-03 Buy TD.TO 614.00 56.92 9.99 34958.87
    CAD 2014-12-03 SymbolTransferOut TD.TO 614.00 56.94 34958.87
    ???
    ???

    I did look at the FAQ, it say to use the following formula for transaction #3
    TransPrice=TransTotalAmnt(PrevTransaction)*BankExc hRate/TransQty and
    TBookValueOverride=TotalTransAmnt(PrevTransaction) *BankExchRate.

    What kind of operation is TransTotalAmnt(PrevTransaction) ??? Could you provide a working example based on my transaction ?

    Also, in my detailled TDDI transaction slip, i see that i was charged 0.68$ of US taxes for the SELL operation, how do i handle this in portfolioslicer, do i simply adjust the TD stock price of the SELL operation ?

    Best regards
    Last edited by larry81; 2014-12-04 at 03:25 PM.
    My portfolio: VCN, VUN, VIU, VEE, HBB, ZRE

  8. #57
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    85
    Hi Larry81,

    Now my assumption is that you bought in account CAD and then transferred it into account USD

    Account Date Trans Symbol Qty Price Fee BookValue Override Amount
    AccntCAD 12/3/2014 Buy TD.TO 614 56.92 9.99 34958.87
    AccntCAD 12/3/2014 SymbolTransferOut TD.TO 614 56.93627036 34958.87
    AccntUSD 12/3/2014 SymbolTransferIn TD 614 50.0628 30738.5592 30738.5592
    AccntUSD 12/3/2014 Sell TD 614 50.0628 10.67 30738.5592 30727.8892

    I added 0.68 to sell fee, so instead of 9.99 it became 10.67.
    For symbol transfer into price I included fee, so total transfer amount matches amount that was paid.
    You specify sell price for 50.062, but really I had to calculate it more precise to get sales amount 30727.89 after all expenses. So my calcs shows that price was supposed to be 50.0628 (just simple excel magic)
    BookValueOverride was amount you got before subtracting fees you paid.

    Image: gamb20141204.PNG
    Last edited by vidm; 2014-12-04 at 04:04 PM. Reason: Added image
    Free investment tracking in Excel: Hidden Content

  9. #58
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    GTA
    Posts
    1,488
    sound good but where do you use the BankExchRate in this ?
    My portfolio: VCN, VUN, VIU, VEE, HBB, ZRE

  10. #59
    Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2012
    Posts
    85
    Quote Originally Posted by larry81 View Post
    sound good but where do you use the BankExchRate in this ?
    BankExchRate plays bigger role in case when you are doing this transaction in single account - first example in FAQ.
    As you bough in CAD account and then transferred symbol into USD account and sold right away, your bank provided with actual price for sale.

    The goal of these transactions really is:
    - For CAD account your buy and Transfer out "TotalAmount" should be exactly the same. So there is really no capital gain for this transaction.
    - For USD account your Transfer In value for "TotalAmount" will be in USD currency and it should be equal to CAD account book value converted to USD currency using that days exchange rate. If you are selling this symbol same day, you can then use sales price (adjusted for transaction fees).
    Free investment tracking in Excel: Hidden Content

  11. #60
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2010
    Location
    GTA
    Posts
    1,488
    Regarding distribution, should i enter the Ex-dividend date, the Record date or Payment date in Portfolio slicer ?

    For example, VCE latest distribution

    Ex-dividend date Record date Payment date Cash distribution per unit Reinvested distribution per unit Total distribution per unit
    24-12-2014 30-12-2014 05-01-2015 $0.18935 $0.00000 $0.18935

    My portfolio: VCN, VUN, VIU, VEE, HBB, ZRE

Page 6 of 16 FirstFirst ... 45678 ... LastLast

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •