At age of 70 parents ask for financial advice....
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: At age of 70 parents ask for financial advice....

At age of 70 parents ask for financial advice....

Hi all,

This is my first time posting here. So when I was in my early 20's my Dad freaked out on me for not wanting a real job... I told him I wanted to invest and of course he said get a real job and by that he meant an office job. I've never been one for 9-5's and while I tried it out, it never quite agreed with me. Now I work in the film and ent biz and invest. After that convo with my Dad in my 20's I never shared any info about where I worked, or financial info although I guess he knows that I'm an avid investor.

So in their early 70's, my Mom and dad have asked me for financial advice about stocks etc b/c they aren't happy with how their mutual funds are doing. They want my advice. Part of me is terrified b/c in my mind I'm thinking you guys are getting older and I thought you had it together, this is no time to be tinkering around. I have two much older brothers that they usually ask for stuff. I also don't want them sniffing into my business as I live my life very discreetly.

I also found out that my grandmother is going to be experiencing a financial shortfall paying for her retirement residence, and perhaps this may have put my parents into panic mode. Keep in mind they never share anything of this type of stuff with me as I'm the youngest.

Do you guys usually give your parents financial advice? How would you deal with this situation if it occurred in your family?

Assuming that someone knows anything about finances just because they are older is a big mistake.