Newbie investor with very basic questions
Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Newbie investor with very basic questions

Newbie investor with very basic questions

Hi I'm a newbie investor interesting in purchasing mutual funds for growth towards retirement in 20 odd years.
    I'm looking to have as hands off approach as much as possible, hence mutual funds.

1. For say 100K, how many different mutual fund companies should be invested in for basic/minimum diversification?
    2. Does the answer change if it's 200K?
    3. Any opinions on MAW104 Mawer Balanced Fund and its MER .94?
    4. Any suggestion on other mutual funds?

Thank you kindly for any advice, it is much appreciated.

Try looking at etfs instead of mutual funds...same idea, less mer, so you make more money.
    I'm not JustAGuy (without spaces), or Donald, or <insert name here>.

Simple answer. MAW104 for everything. It is a 'all in one' answer. Seriously.... Answer really does not need to change for $100k or $1000k.

If you are thinking mutual funds, Mawer is one of the best for actively managed mutual funds. Steadyhand and/or Tangeine are a few other options.

But you should consider TD e-series index mutual funds with their low MERs. They can be bought with an online account.... or a TDDI brokerage account. You only need 4 funds. Cdn equity, US equity, Int'l equity and Cdn bond. That said, if you are into having a discount brokerage account, e.g. with TDDI, with $100k, you can do the same thing with even lower cost ETFs (purchased on the stock market). You can do it with 3 funds.... VCN (Cdn equity), VXC (or XAW) for US and Int'l, and VAB (Cdn bond). Using low cost ETFs is even more effective the more money you have....whether $100k, $1000k, or $5000k.

4. Remove Advertisements
    CanadianMoneyForum.com
    Advertisements

Thank you so much for the input and recommended ETFs! This was much appreciated and highly informative.