My Journey to Financial Freedom
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: My Journey to Financial Freedom

My Journey to Financial Freedom

Hi Everyone,

New to this forum and have just recently decided to start my journey to financial freedom.

About Me
    I am a millennial, married, and currently reside in Eastern Canada. I work with the government, getting paid an average salary, and live an ordinary life. I first started investing when I was 19. I opened up a Tax Free Savings Discount Brokerage Account with TD Bank, and invested all my savings I had at the time (~$1000). However, I ended up withdrawing it a few years later to pay off debt. When I graduated from University in 2011, I was able to get a government job, bought a house, and got married, but really didn’t have a good financial plan. Fast forward to 2017, my wife and I are expecting our first child, so I wanted some extra income to cover off the additional expenses. I began reading books and articles on finance and how to build wealth. I developed a strong passion to pursue the road to financial freedom.

My short term goal is to have my mortgage paid off in 3 years (~$160 000 left). My next goal is to have a net worth of $1 million by the age of 40, and my long term goal is to generate sufficient passive income ($15,000/month). I also started a blog call slowly but wealthy to track my own progress

Asset
    Cash: $400
    Savings: $5
    TFSA Investment: $24,000
    TFSA Mutual Fund: $3,500
    Real Estate: $260,000

Liabilities
    Mortgage: $163,000
    LOC: $12,000

Net Worth: ~$113,300

I am in a dilemma rather or not I want to consider my house an asset because it give me false sense of net worth. What do people in this forum think?

Monthly Budget

HOUSEHOLD INCOME (ME +_WIFE) Approx. $6,500 after Tax and Work Pensions

EXPENSES Approx. $3,240
    Mortgage + Property Tax: ~$1,075
    Utility: ~$150-$200 Depending on the season
    Cell Phone: ~$120 for 3 Month
    Internet: ~$55