From a hard lesson to financial prudence
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: From a hard lesson to financial prudence

From a hard lesson to financial prudence

Well, I've been reading and learning a lot since I joined here, and I've got to say this forum has been a huge help. I feel it's time I kicked off my own Money Diary, partially for accountability and partiall to receive suggestions and input form the knowledgeable members on this forum.

Bear with me, the first post will be the longest, to set the stage. I promise!!

A bit about me, taken from one of my first posts here:

I’m 28 years old. I’m a journeyman welder and last year I grossed right around $60,000 thanks to the crash in the Alberta economy. The previous good years however, allowed me to pay off all debt other than my vehicle. I’ve spent the last 1.5 - 2 years recovering from a pretty big mistake with regards to vehicles…

I traded in a great vehicle that I had bought new and owned for 2 years for a piece of junk that was 2 years new and used for no good reason, regretted it almost instantly, plus it turned out to be a lemon and I poured money into it to to pay it down and sell this summer. I can elaborate on that story if anyone cares. LOL

So now I’m trying to get my financial feet back under me with 3 main goals; 1. Rebuild the $10,000 savings I drained to get rid of my lemon vehicle (it had been my home downpayment money). 2. Build a comfortable emergency fund. 3. Develop a long term savings plan with retirement at 55 as my goal (because fishing is better than work).

I'm common-law with my girlfriend, and other than a savings account for vacation money our finances are separate. They'll stay that way until marriage (which is likely in a year or two), and then they'll combine. Until then, this diary will be my finances alone.