Travel insurance
Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Travel insurance

Travel insurance

Any suggestions for cheaper travel insurance? In BC i know of BCAA, pacific blue cross and td insurance. I haven't checked out canadian direct yet.

I go to the states quite a bit so i need a multi trip plan.

Super Moderator
    Absolutely, you need travel health insurance if you're going to the USA. When I first started travelling to the US, I got TD's Travel Medical Insurance: https://www.tdcanadatrust.com/produc...cal-insurance/

Remember that supplemental health insurance like this is only valid if you have valid provincial health insurance.

I thought the pricing for the annual coverage was pretty good. I think I may have gotten a discount associated with the university I graduated from, so mention the university and ask if there is a group plan for alumni.

I used the same TD Travel Medical when I spent a few months in Australia. However, I never made any claims so I can't speak to how good it really is.

Tips for the US, now that I've interacted with their medical system more. Before buying insurance, ask them the following questions and make sure you get solid answers:

1. Which doctors or hospitals will I be able to go to? Different doctors/hospitals are members of different networks, such as Blue Cross, and the insurance may only permit you to go to certain locations. Ask up front!

2. What is the method of payment, especially for expensive/emergency/surgery situations? Remember that in these scenarios you could get massive bills, easily tens or even hundreds of thousands of dollars. Will you first have to pay with your own money and the make an insurance claim, getting refunded for it months later? If the insurance will step in, get them to describe the mechanism to you. This is really important. One major infection could incur hundreds of thousands of $ in hospital bills.
    Last edited by james4beach; 2017-03-08 at 03:18 AM.