Snowbirds...where to start.
Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Snowbirds...where to start.

Snowbirds...where to start.

Hey all,

I was layed off recently and starting to think about doing some traveling to warmer climates. I have very little experience traveling outside Canada.

I'm looking at either a long road trip through southern U.S. or a couple months further south.

My problem is the high cost of accommodations. Staying at hotels for $100.00/night doesn't make much sense.

So what's my starting point to get decent accommodations at reasonable rates.

If I go with the road trip, I was thinking AirBNB...only problem I could see with this is that you have to stick to a strict schedule (most places offer no refunds unless you cancel 5 days in advance).

If I opt for longer term at 1 specific place outside U.S., what would be the recommended way of getting accommodations? (appt rental, time share rental, bed and breakfast ??) . Any recommendations for web sites?

How did existing snowbirds start out when planning their trips south?

Cheers!

motorhome.jpg

We've taken this everywhere from Mexico to PEI to Florida Keys etc for years. No bed bugs,schedule,bad food or limits to your stay. Noisy neighbor? Just start engine & leave.
    Last edited by Eder; 2017-01-25 at 11:39 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by frdm45 View Post
    Hey all,

I was layed off recently and starting to think about doing some traveling to warmer climates. I have very little experience traveling outside Canada.

I'm looking at either a long road trip through southern U.S. or a couple months further south.

My problem is the high cost of accommodations. Staying at hotels for $100.00/night doesn't make much sense.

So what's my starting point to get decent accommodations at reasonable rates.

If I go with the road trip, I was thinking AirBNB...only problem I could see with this is that you have to stick to a strict schedule (most places offer no refunds unless you cancel 5 days in advance).