Thread: A few (obvious?) questions on taxes

Question A few (obvious?) questions on taxes

I'm sorry if these questions seem stupid or obvious, it's my first time filling out forms, and I don't have the slightest idea of what I'm doing.

1) I recently got a part-time job, and I am filling out a tax credit form for the federal government and BC. I go to university full time, and my total income is less than my total claim amount. I get the feeling that if my income is lower than my total claim amount, I don't have to pay taxes? Is that correct?

Also, what exactly are tax credits? Are they just the amount that gets deducted from taxes?

If I don't have to pay taxes, where do my credits go?

2) I receive money from my parents overseas. They're Canadian citizens. Would this be considered a money gift or something else? Do I have to declare it somewhere and possibly pay taxes? What about my parents? They don't live in Canada anymore and they don't pay taxes.

3) I have some tax credit for a bus pass and and tax-deductible donations. Is it worth sending these in for tax credit if I don't have to pay taxes? Where do I send it?

Thanks in advance

Quote Originally Posted by chezza View Post
    I'm sorry if these questions seem stupid or obvious, it's my first time filling out forms, and I don't have the slightest idea of what I'm doing.

1) I recently got a part-time job, and I am filling out a tax credit form for the federal government and BC. I go to university full time, and my total income is less than my total claim amount. I get the feeling that if my income is lower than my total claim amount, I don't have to pay taxes? Is that correct?
    You are probably filling out a TD1 which all employers need. If your income from your part time job is less than the personal exemption level, you will get the tax you paid back in the form of a refund when you file. Depending on a number of circumstances, your employer might have to withhold some taxes from your paycheques.